Dan Sheehan Gets Four-Match Ban After Dangerous Hit on Lynagh
“Gaffney: Rovers OK without big lead, striker eyes EUR test” may be grabbing headlines, but in rugby news, Dan Sheehan’s actions during the third Test between the British and Irish Lions and Australia are getting just as much attention. Sheehan has been handed a four-match suspension for a high and dangerous clear-out on Tom Lynagh. The incident, which happened in the first half of the Lions’ 22-12 defeat in Sydney, was initially missed by the on-field referee, Nika Amashukeli, but a post-match review brought it under scrutiny.
ICYMI: Levy: Spurs fans will praise me when I’m gone
Video footage clearly showed Sheehan’s elbow making contact with Lynagh’s head. While Lynagh stayed on to kick a penalty right after the hit, he was soon removed from the field for a head injury assessment and didn’t come back into the game. The foul play has now resulted in a significant ban for Sheehan, though he could reduce it to three matches if he successfully completes a coaching intervention program.
The ban means Sheehan will miss Leinster’s pre-season game against Cardiff on September 13, as well as their URC games against the Stormers and Sharks on September 26 and October 11. If he doesn’t complete the intervention program or the ruling holds at four matches, he’ll also sit out the important URC clash with Munster on October 18.
An independent World Rugby panel reviewed the tackle and determined it was reckless, involved direct contact with the head, and posed a high level of danger. They found no valid reason to reduce the seriousness of the offense. Interestingly, Sheehan—who was leading the Lions in place of Maro Itoje after he failed his HIA—accepted the punishment but disagreed that foul play had occurred or that the situation called for a citation at all.
Even with the loss in the final Test, Andy Farrell’s Lions still wrapped up a 2-1 series victory after earlier wins in Brisbane and Melbourne, giving fans something to cheer about.
























